Henk Schippers Young Investigator Award

We congratulate the winner of the 2017 Henk Schippers Young Investigator Award: Dr. David Ruttens from Leuven!

Henk Schippers became the first Eurotransplant Director in 1970. After 5 years, he was appointed Secretary/Treasurer of the Board until his death in 2003. Henk laid the foundations for the administration of Eurotransplant. He successfully completed negotiations with the insurance companies and initiated the international network, which is now a hallmark of Eurotransplant. To commemorate his pioneering work for Eurotransplant a young investigator award in his name was established in 2003.


The purpose of this award is to encourage young clinical and/or scientific investigators to pursue a career in the field of organ and tissue transplantation. It is our hope that this research will be invigorated by the work of young, talented individuals supported by stable multi-year funding. The Henk Schippers Young Investigator Award is especially meant to enable the investigator to present his/her results of clinical and/or scientific organ transplantation related investigations at well recognized and respected international transplantation congresses or symposia, e.g. European Society for Organ Transplantation (ESOT).


From left to right: Prof. Bruno Meiser, Mrs. Hanneke Siebers (widow of Henk Schippers), Dr. David Ruttens and Dr. Peter Branger

Eurotransplant Award

The winners of the 2017 Eurotransplant Award are Dr. Christiaan Decoster from Brussels and Prof. Raimund Margreiter from Innsbruck!

In 2017, Eurotransplant will celebrate its 50th anniversary. We intend to celebrate this by making an award available for an individual or individuals who have contributed in a significant way in solving the many issues Eurotransplant is facing, and who has performed this work in one of the countries collaborating in Eurotransplant.


From left ro right: Prof. Bruno Meiser, Dr. Peter Branger and Dr. Christiaan Decoster


Prof. Bruno Meiser and Prof. Raimund Margreiter